Skip Navigation
October 6, 2015 | 23rd Tishrei 5776
Home  /  About Us  /  Union for Reform Judaism  /  Press Room  /  2007 Press Releases  /  Prize for Jewish Fiction  / 
Prize for Jewish Fiction


Reform Judaism for Jewish Fiction

 Reform Judaism Prize for Jewish Fiction
Annual Prize Carries $5,000 Award


The Reform Judaism Prize for Jewish Fiction was created in 2003 by Dr. Alexander Mauskop, a Larchmont, New York neurologist, to encourage young Jewish fiction writers. To be eligible, writers must be under the age of 45 and have published a novel or short story collection on a Jewish theme.  To qualify for the prize, the writer must have authored a novel or collection of short stories on a Jewish theme published originally in English in the United States or Canada. Additionally, the writer must not have received a major book award, such as the Pulitzer Prize, Booker Award, or National Book Award, prior to the June 1 application deadline.

The first winner of the award was Dara Horn for her first novel, In the Image. Subsequent winners were David Bezmozgis (2004), Jonathan Rosen (2005), Tamar Yellin (2006), Scott Nadelson (2007) and Margot Singer (2008).

The prize is currently on hiatius and will not be awarded in 2009.  


The Union for Reform Judaism is the synagogue arm of the Reform Movement in North America, and represents 1.5 million Reform Jews in more than 900 congregations in the United States and Canada. The Union services include youth camps, music and book publishing, outreach to unaffiliated and intermarried Jews, adult education programs, and the Religious Action Center in Washington, DC..


URJ logo

Donate Now



Multimedia Icon Multimedia:  Photos  |  Videos  |  Podcasts  |  Webinars
Bookmark and Share About Us  |  Careers  |  Privacy Policy
Copyright Union for Reform Judaism 2015.  All Rights Reserved