Skip Navigation
October 10, 2015 | 27th Tishrei 5776

Reform Congregations Awarded for Excellence in Social Justice Programming

Contact: Naomi Abelson, 212.650.4162
Eric Harris, 202.387.2800

NEW YORK, March 9, 2011 -- The Commission on Social Action of Reform Judaism is proud to announce winners of its 2011 Irving J. Fain Award for Outstanding Synagogue Social Action Programming to 17 congregations across North America.

The Commission on Social Action is a joint instrumentality of the Central Conference of American Rabbis and the Union for Reform Judaism and its affiliates. The Commission oversees the work of the Religious Action Center.

The Irving J. Fain Award is given biennially to select congregations that demonstrate an outstanding commitment to social justice in their social action programming. Winners of the award have been chosen from a pool of more than 900 synagogues and exemplify the passion for social justice that is the hallmark of Reform Judaism.

"Social justice is such an essential component to our Movement," said Dr. Cheryl Gutmann, Chair of the Commission on Social Action of Reform Judaism. "As Reform Jews, we are commanded to be God's partners in standing up for the voiceless and fixing what is broken in our society. The winners of the Irving J. Fain Award for Outstanding Synagogue Social Action Programming justly embody what it means to profoundly pursue tikkun olam– repairing the world. Their innovation in the pursuit of justice is truly inspiring."

Established in 1983, the Fain Awards recognize Irving J. Fain, a dedicated member of the Commission on Social Action who served as Chair for a decade and is considered a social justice icon in the Reform Movement. The Fain Awards will be presented during the Religious Action Center's Consultation on Conscience, May 1 – 3, 2011, the Reform Movement's flagship social justice conference.

This year the Irving J. Fain Award for Outstanding Synagogue Social Action Programming has been awarded to the following congregations:  

Chicago Sinai Congregation, Chicago, IL
Congregation Beth HaTephila, Asheville, NC
Congregation Beth Israel, North Adams, MA
Congregation Beth Yam, Hilton Head Island, SC
Congregation Emanu-El of Westchester, Rye, NY
Congregation Mickve Israel, Savannah, GA
KAM Isaiah Israel Congregation, Chicago, IL
Temple Beth El of Northern Westchester, Chappaqua, NY
Temple Beth Shalom, Austin, TX
Temple Emanuel, Greensboro, NC
Temple Emanuel, Winston-Salem, NC
Temple Emanu-El, San Jose, CA
Temple Israel, Columbus, GA
Temple Israel of Northern Westchester, Croton on Hudson, NY
Temple Rodeph Torah, Marlboro, NJ
Temple Shir Tikva, Wayland, MA
Touro Synagogue, New Orleans, LA

Honorable Mentions:

Central Reform Congregation, St. Louis, MO
Congregation Beth Israel, San Diego, CA
Holy Blossom Temple, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel, Elkins Park, PA
Temple Adath B'nai Israel, Evansville, IN
Temple Shalom of Aberdeen, Aberdeen, NJ
University Synagogue, Los Angeles, CA

For more information, please visit

Comments left on this website are monitored. By posting a comment you are in agreement with Terms & Conditions.

URJ logo

Donate Now



Multimedia Icon Multimedia:  Photos  |  Videos  |  Podcasts  |  Webinars
Bookmark and Share About Us  |  Careers  |  Privacy Policy
Copyright Union for Reform Judaism 2015.  All Rights Reserved