Skip Navigation
April 28, 2015 | 9th Iyyar 5775
Home  /  Shutafim  / 

A Recognition Program for Exemplary Community Partnerships|
From the Union for Reform Judaism Synagogue-Federation Relations Committee

The Shutafim-Partners program is designed to recognize as well as to stimulate exemplary collaboration between Jewish Federations and their local synagogue communities.  Every two years, the Committee selects three communities for special recognition, one small, one mid-sized, and one large, at the Union’s Biennial Convention. 

The program takes into consideration both the ways Federations assist and support synagogues, and the ways synagogues and the synagogue community support and collaborate with each other and with the Federation

Communities are selected through an open nominations process; any synagogue or Federation lay leader or professional may submit a nomination, using the approved on-line form.  The judges are members of the URJ Synagogue-Federation Relations Committee whose communities are not in contention for recognition.  Nominations for recognition at the 2011 Biennial in Washington D.C.  must be submitted by May 31, 2011. 

Recognizing that the nature of synagogue-Federation collaboration is significantly conditioned by community size, the committee strives to compare communities with their peers.  However, the boundaries between small and mid-sized, and between mid-sized and large, are fluid, at the discretion of the judging committee.  Generally speaking,  a small community is one with fewer than 35,000 Jews and five or fewer synagogues (of all streams); a mid-sized community is one with more than 35,000 and fewer than 100,000 Jews and fifty or fewer synagogues; and a large community is one with more than 100,000 Jews and more than fifty synagogues.  (The Nominations form asks for community size, but not for classification.)

Recognition of communities receiving Shutafim awards will begin at the 2011 Biennial, and will continue through local and national publicity.  In addition, recognition ceremonies may be arranged after the Biennial in the communities selected for awards.


Previous Awards 

2007 – Inaugural year
Rochester NY (small)
San Diego CA (mid-sized)
Washington DC (large). 

2009 -- program suspended

2011 – program resumes


Blog & Discuss

URJ logo

Donate Now



Multimedia Icon Multimedia:  Photos  |  Videos  |  Podcasts  |  Webinars
Bookmark and Share About Us  |  Careers  |  Privacy Policy
Copyright Union for Reform Judaism 2015.  All Rights Reserved